Photo: Frank Schemmann

Robert Landfermann (DE)

Robert Landfermann (born in 1982, Oberwinter, Germany) is regarded as one of the best and most innovative European jazz bassists. In addition to his full tour calendar, he is increasingly active as bandleader and composer for exciting projects. With his solo album "Null", he created a remarkably diverse album, inspired by parameters of jazz, improvisation and New Music.

Within the European jazz scene, this Cologne musician is known as an outstanding, virtuoso improviser. DownBeat Magazine described him as a “highly versatile player that can fit easily into mainstream and avant garde contexts with impressive élan.” Hans-Jürgen Linke adds: “Landfermann is probably not only the busiest jazz bassist in Germany at the moment, but also the one with the broadest stylistic horizon.”

Robert Landfermann is bandleader in several of his own ensembles, and a co-initiator of the Cologne musician collective KLAENG, which organises jazz festivals and workshops. Since 2014, he is co-owner of the label Klaeng Records, where his own albums "Topaz", "Tiefgan" and "Kehdata" (with Elisabeth Coudoux) were released.
His quintet album "Night Will Fall" (Pirouet Records) was among the best albums of 2016 listed by DownBeat Magazine. Robert Landfermann’s most recent release, in 2018, was Brief, with the same line-up. Luciano Berio, Helmut Lachenmann, Pierre Boulez, Charles Mingus, Thelonious Monk and Paul Motian all influenced his compositions.

From 2011, Robert Landfermann taught jazz double bass and ensemble music at the Folkwang University of the Arts in Essen, and took up a professorship at the Musikhochschule Mannheim in the autumn of 2019.

Read more

Dates

Round Robin „Escalator Over The Hill“ (The Prequel #1)
Thu, 07/01/21, 19:00, Festival Boat

Alternating duos with Yazz Ahmed, Sam Amidon, Hibo Elmi, Greg Fox, Shahzad Ismaily, Sofia Jernberg, Robert Landfermann, Ingrid Laubrock, Ava Mendoza, Marcus Schmickler, Phillip Sollmann, Colin Stetson, Stian Westerhus

The Prequel #2
Thu, 07/01/21, 21:30, Festival Boat
  • Colin Stetson & Greg Fox
  • Ava Mendoza solo
  • Sam Amidon „The Following Mountain“
  • Hibo Elmi, Sam Amidon, Greg Fox, Shahzad Ismaily
The Prequel #3
Fri, 07/02/21, 19:00, Festival Boat
  • Ava Mendoza, Robert Landfermann, Greg Fox
  • Sofia Jernberg, Ingrid Laubrock, Olivia De Prato
  • Jennifer Walshe & Mivos Quartet
The Prequel #5
Sat, 07/03/21, 19:00, Festival Boat
  • Ava Mendoza, Stian Westerhus, Shahzad Ismaily, Phillip Sollmann, Greg Fox
  • Colin Stetson solo
  • Sofia Jernberg, Sam Amidon, Shahzad Ismaily, Robert Landfermann
The Prequel #6
Sat, 07/03/21, 21:30, Festival Boat
  • Ingrid Laubrock, Yazz Ahmed, Greg Fox
  • Marcus Schmickler & Robert Landfermann
  • The Grand Finale "And It's Again"

Photo: Frank Schemmann

Robert Landfermann (DE)

Robert Landfermann (geb. 1982 in Oberwinter bei Bonn) gilt als einer der besten und innovativsten europäischen Jazz-Bassisten. Zusätzlich zu seinem prall gefüllten Tourkalender agiert er immer mehr als Bandleader und Komponist von aufregenden Bandprojekten. Mit seinem Soloalbum „Null“ hat er ein beachtlich eigenständiges und abwechslungsreich eingespieltes Album veröffentlicht, inspiriert von Parametern des Jazz, der Improvisierten und der Neuen Musik.

In der europäischen Jazzszene ist der Kölner Musiker als virtuoser und herausragender Improvisator bekannt. Das amerikanische DownBeat Magazine beschreibt ihn als „vielseitigen Spieler, der sich mit beeindruckendem Elan leicht in Mainstream- und Avantgarde-Kontexte einfügen kann.“ Hans-Jürgen Linke ergänzt: „Landfermann ist unter den Jazzbassisten in Deutschland zurzeit vermutlich nicht nur der meistbeschäftigte, sondern auch der mit dem weitesten stilistischen Horizont.“

Robert Landfermann leitet mehrere eigene Ensembles und ist Mitinitiator des Kölner Musikerkollektivs KLAENG, das Jazzfestivals und Workshops organisiert. Seit 2014 ist er zudem Mitbetreiber des Label Klaeng Records, auf dem unter anderem seine eigenen Alben „Topaz“, „Tiefgang“ und „Kehdata“ (zusammen mit Elisabeth Coudoux) erschienen sind.
Sein Quintett-Album “Night Will Fall“ (Pirouet Records) wurde vom DownBeat Magazine in die Liste der besten Alben des Jahres 2016 aufgenommen. Zuletzt ist 2018 seine CD „Brief“ mit derselben Besetzung erschienen. Als Einflüsse seiner skizzenhaften Kompositionen zählen Luciano Berio, Helmut Lachenmann, Pierre Boulez genauso wie Charles Mingus, Thelonious Monk und Paul Motian.

Robert Landfermann unterrichtet seit 2011 an der Folkwang-Universität der Künste in Essen Jazz-Kontrabass und Ensemblespiel und trat im Herbst 2019 eine Professur an der Musikhochschule Mannheim an.

Weiter lesen

Termine

Round Robin „Escalator Over The Hill“ (The Prequel #1)
Do, 01.07.2021, 19:00, Festivalschiff

Wechselnde Duos mit Yazz Ahmed, Sam Amidon, Hibo Elmi, Greg Fox, Shahzad Ismaily, Sofia Jernberg, Robert Landfermann, Ingrid Laubrock, Ava Mendoza, Marcus Schmickler, Phillip Sollmann, Colin Stetson, Stian Westerhus

The Prequel #2
Do, 01.07.2021, 21:30, Festivalschiff
  • Colin Stetson & Greg Fox
  • Ava Mendoza solo
  • Sam Amidon „The Following Mountain“
  • Hibo Elmi, Sam Amidon, Greg Fox, Shahzad Ismaily
The Prequel #3
Fr, 02.07.2021, 19:00, Festivalschiff
  • Ava Mendoza, Robert Landfermann, Greg Fox
  • Sofia Jernberg, Ingrid Laubrock, Olivia De Prato
  • Mivos Quartet
The Prequel #5
Sa, 03.07.2021, 19:00, Festivalschiff
  • Ava Mendoza, Stian Westerhus, Shahzad Ismaily, Phillip Sollmann, Greg Fox
  • Colin Stetson solo
  • Sofia Jernberg, Sam Amidon, Shahzad Ismaily, Robert Landfermann
The Prequel #6
Sa, 03.07.2021, 21:30, Festivalschiff
  • Ingrid Laubrock, Yazz Ahmed, Greg Fox
  • Marcus Schmickler & Robert Landfermann
  • The Grand Finale "And It's Again"