Photo: Albrecht Fuchs

Marcus Schmickler (DE)

Entwurf einer Rheinlandschaft

Marcus Schmickler_comp

The Monheim Triennale will open on July 1st 2020 with a commissioned composition by Marcus Schmickler. The composer stages an open air concert on both sides of the Rhine with which he explores the relationship between near and far in music, text and performance. "I am interested in the protagonists' relationship to money, power, love, humanity and ecology, comparable to classical fabrics such as „Faust“ or „Der Ring des Nibelungen“. On the eve of the first edition of the Monheim Triennale, thematic aspects of the entire festival will be prepared in my design of „Entwurf einer Rheinlandschaft“ (Draft of a Rhine River Landscape) and asked as questions to the festival and the citizens of the city.“

Lehn/Schmickler meet Corsano

Marcus Schmickler_computer
Thomas Lehn_synth
Chris Corsano_dr

In this world premiere the pioneering synthesizer-improv duo Lehn/Schmickler meets New York-based Chris Corsano, a meeting of analog and digital sound generators with acoustic drums.

About Marcus Schmickler

Marcus Schmickler (born 1968 in Cologne, Germany) is a composer of contemporary electronic and New Music. Whether as free improviser, audio-visual sound sculptor or representative of contemporary computer music in a club context, Schmickler is one of the most relevant avant-garde protagonists of our time.

During his musicology studies in Cologne (with majors in composition and electronic music), Marcus Schmickler initiated “a-musik” with friends in 1995: to this day a worldwide outstanding experimental music construct comprising a record store, distribution and label, managed by Georg Odijk.
In the mid-90s, Schmickler also founded his post-rock solo project “Pluramon” (released on Mille Plateaux and Karaoke Kalk) proving his claim as a musician across genres early on. His work is a reference to the influential German electronic music tradition, French spectral music, American experimental and noise music, as well as club music. Schmickler’s music is characterized by harmonious colours and microtonal moods, engaging in forward-looking discourse about algorithmic techniques during sound production.
Most of Marcus Schmickler's music is designed for multi-channel sound projections. His oeuvre includes numerous sound installations specifically created for a site, interdisciplinary works (crossing into film and lighting art) as well as artistic collaborations (with theatre director Felix Ensslin and visual artist Gerhard Richter, for example).

Marcus Schmickler runs the electroacoustic studio “Piethopraxis” in Cologne.

Read more

Photo: Albrecht Fuchs

Marcus Schmickler (DE)

Entwurf einer Rheinlandschaft

Marcus Schmickler_comp
Für Elektronische Musik, Sprecherin, Solo-Sänger, Solo-Bläser, EOS Brass Octet, Schlagzeuger, Rheintöchter, Akkordeon-Orchester, Chor, Amateur-Musiker.

Die Monheim Triennale wird am 1. Juli 2020 mit einer Auftragskomposition von Marcus Schmickler eröffnet. Der Komponist inszeniert ein Open-Air-Konzert auf beiden Seiten des Rheins mit dem er das Verhältnis von nah und fern in Musik, Text und Performance auslotet.

Lehn/Schmickler meet Corsano

Marcus Schmickler_computer
Thomas Lehn_synth
Chris Corsano_dr

In dieser Weltpremiere trifft das bahnbrechende Synthesizer-Improv-Duo Lehn/Schmickler auf den New Yorker Chris Corsano, ein Treffen von analogen und digitalen Klangerzeugern mit akustischen Drums.

Über Marcus Schmickler

Marcus Schmickler (geboren 1968 in Köln) ist ein Komponist zeitgenössischer Elektronischer und Neuer Musik. Ob als freier Improvisator, als audiovisuell arbeitender Klangskulpteur oder als Vertreter der zeitgenössischen Computermusik im Clubkontext – Schmickler gehört zu den relevantesten Avantgarde-Protagonisten unserer Zeit.

Parallel zu seinem Studium der Musikwissenschaft in Köln (mit den Schwerpunkten Komposition und Elektronische Musik) initiierte Marcus Schmickler 1995 mit Freunden a-musik, ein bis heute weltweit einzigartiges Konstrukt für experimentelle Musik aus Plattenladen, Vertrieb und Label, das von Georg Odijk geführt wird.
Mit seinem ebenfalls Mitte der 90er Jahre gegründeten Postrock-Soloprojekt Pluramon (mit dem er auf Mille Plateaux und Karaoke Kalk veröffentlichte) betonte Schmickler früh seinen genreübergreifenden Anspruch als Musiker. Seine Stücke beziehen sich gleichermaßen auf die einflussreiche Tradition Elektronischer Musik aus Deutschland, französische Spektralmusik, amerikanische Experimental- und Noisemusik sowie Clubmusik. Sie sind geprägt von harmonischen Farben und mikrotonale Stimmungen und greifen zukunftsgewandte Diskussionen über beispielsweise algorithmische Techniken bei der Soundproduktion auf.
Die meisten Werke von Marcus Schmickler sind für Mehrkanal-Klangprojektionen geschaffen. In seinem Œuvre finden sich zahlreiche ortsspezifische Klanginstallationen, interdisziplinäre Arbeiten (an der Schnittstelle zur Film- und Lichtkunst) und künstlerische Kooperationen (wie mit dem Regisseur Felix Ensslin und dem Bildenden Künstler Gerhard Richter).

Marcus Schmickler betreibt das elektroakustische Studio Piethopraxis in Köln.

Weiter lesen